Set Up Parental Controls for Snapchat

Updated: Sep 2

Here's how to set up parental controls for Snapchat!

Here are the top 5 parental control settings we recommend:


1. Only friends allowed!

There are some settings within Snapchat that allows "Everyone" (strangers) to add and chat to your child. It is vital that these settings are switched off and properly monitored so your child is not exposed to strangers and other adult Snapchatters on the platform.

Only friends can contact you

  1. Tap the profile photo, then the Settings icon in the top right corner

  2. In Settings, go down to the section "Who can..." and select "Contact Me"

  3. Select "My Friends"

Only friends can view your story

  1. Tap the profile photo, then the Settings icon in the top right corner

  2. In Settings, go down to the section "Who can..." and select "View My Story"

  3. Select "My Friends"


gif





2. Don't let others find your child with their number

When you set up a Snapchat account, you will be asked to give your name, birthday, phone number, and username. Users can find each other through their usernames or add using Snapcodes (Snapchat's QR code). However, users can also find your child if they have their phone numbers. To disable this, follow these instructions:

  1. Tap the profile photo, then the Settings icon in the top right corner

  2. In Settings, go down to the section "My Account"

  3. Tap on Mobile Number

  4. Disable "Let others find me using my mobile number"



3. Disable "Quick Add"

Snapchat's Quick Add feature is designed to suggest profiles to users who aren't friends yet, similar to Facebook's "People You May Know" or Instagram's "Suggested for You". According to Snapchat, "Friend recommendations in Quick Add are based on who you're already friends with, who you subscribe to and other factors" (source: Snapchat). We recommend disabling this feature and there is no reason why your child's profile should be recommended to strangers on the platform.


To disable this feature:

  1. Tap the profile photo, then the Settings icon in the top right corner

  2. In Settings, go down to the section "Who can..." and select "See Me in Quick Add"

  3. Toggle off (or disable) "Show me in Quick Add"


gif

4. Turn on "Ghost Mode" (disable location sharing)

SnapMap is a feature within the app that allows users to share their locations and appear in a map with their friends. Location sharing in any app is dangerous. If your child has added strangers to their friends list, the SnapMap poses a great risk of making your child's location known to predators.


Disable location sharing by following the below:

  1. Tap the profile photo, then the Settings icon in the top right corner

  2. In Settings, go down to the section "Who can..." and select "See My Location"

  3. Enable "Ghost Mode". When this is enabled your friends can't see your location.

  4. Disable "Allow friends to request location" to prevent users from sending location requests in chat.


5. Learn how to report inappropriate content

It's important to show your child how to report inappropriate content that they might come across, or posts that just make them feel uncomfortable.

  1. Tap and hold on a post until the flag icon appears.

  2. Tap on the flag to report or tap on "Report Snap"

  3. Select the reason for reporting. You can report "nudity or sexual content", "threatening, violent, or concerning", "harassment or hate speech", and more. There's also options like "I don't want to see Snaps from them" and "I just don't like it".


If you have other concerns or want to learn more, you can find Snapchat's guides here:

  1. Tap the profile photo, then the Settings icon in the top right corner

  2. In Settings, go down to the section "Support"

  3. Tap "I have a safety concern"



gif


<